2014 elections filing opens in Union County

Filing opened Monday, Feb. 10, for local elections that this year will include the Union County Board of Commissioners seats and the Washington, D.C., seats of U.S. Reps. Robert Pittenger and Richard Hudson and U.S. Sen. Kay Hagan, among others.

Candidates have until Feb. 28, a Friday, at noon, to register at the Union County Board of Elections site. A primary will be held May 6 for races where there are more candidates in any party than seats for that position, and the general election will take place Nov. 4. Filing for Union County Public Schools Board of Education seats doesn’t open until June 27.

County commission filing could see a number of new faces turn up, as the commission continues to deal with residents’ concerns over spending regarding the county’s school system and backlash over the school funding trial last summer. The seats of commissioners Jerry Simpson, Todd Johnson and Jonathan Thomas, all Republicans, are up this year.

All three western Union County N.C. House of Representative members – Reps. Dean Arp, Mark Brody and Craig Horn – are nearing the end of their terms and must decide whether to run for re-election, while the N.C. Senate seat of Sen. Tommy Tucker also is up this year. All four are Republicans.

U.S. Rep. Richard Hudson’s District 8 seat will be up for election, after he ousted former Rep. Larry Kissell in 2012, and U.S. Rep. Robert Pittenger’s District 9 seat will be up for election, after he took over for long-time legislator Rep. Sue Myrick in 2012. Both Hudson and Pittenger are Republicans.

The District 8 seat covers Monroe and eastern Union County in addition to Anson and Cabarrus counties, among others further east. The District 9 seat includes much of western Union County, in addition to parts of Mecklenburg County and Mooresville and around Statesville in Iredell County.

U.S. Sen. Kay Hagan’s seat will appear on this year’s ballot, and will be one of the nation’s most hotly contested races as Republicans look to take back a seat they feel they can win in a state that went red in the 2012 election. Hagan is one of two U.S. senators in North Carolina. U.S. Sen. Richard Burr’s seat is not up for re-election this year.

Union County voters also will see judge seats on the November ballot, in addition to the Union County sheriff position and more. Find a complete list of positions open on this year’s ballot at the elections board website, www.co.union.nc.us/Gov ernment/BoardofElections.aspx. A complete list of local candidates will be printed in the March 6 issue of Union County Weekly.

Did you like this? Share it:

Comments are closed.