School Notes: June 1

Parkwood Middle scores tops in science

MONROE – Students at Parkwood Middle School can now say they are the absolute best when it comes to science.

(Sitting, left to right) Eann Lawing, Stephen Harold, Jimmy Lewis, Andrew Brantley, Timothy Leckrone, Noah Kujawski (standing, left to right) Jacob Thomas, Neil Svedberg, Alexis Starnes, Jack Rorie, Caleb Loftis, Philip Abernathy and Robert Fisher. Not pictured is team member Courtney Huneycutt and science teachers Mrs. Hertel, Mr. Marmara and Mr. Wilson, who helped the team. Photo courtesy Parkwood Middle School

The school was ranked No. 1 in this year’s National Science League Exam, which pits students’ science knowledge against that of others from across the United States. It’s the culmination of years of hard work that ranked Parkwood17th in the country in 2010 and third last year. Team member Jack Rorie, a seventh-grader, scored the highest in the nation, getting 49 out of 50 points.

More than 100 schools participated in the program.

Local student named National Merit scholars

WAXHAW – A Union County student was recently named a winner in the third round of the National Merit Scholarship program.

Neha Kukreja, who lives in Waxhaw but attends Providence Day School in Charlotte, was Union County’s only college-sponsored National Merit winner. The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is sponsoring the scholarship. Neha plans to study international law.

These college-sponsored scholarships provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution awarding the scholarship. Earlier this spring, winners of corporate–sponsored Merit Scholarships and National Merit $2,500 Scholarships were announced.

Locals named to SPCC president, dean’s list

MONROE – The following local South Piedmont Community College students were named to the school’s President’s List for having a 4.0 grade point average in the spring semester:

• Audrey Baker, Michael Crocker, Joshua Fuller, Teressa Lattimore, Angela Santos, Sharon Walters and Mei Lin Holster, of Indian Trail.

• Jana Cartelli, Stefanie Comerford, Stacy Dow, Jonathon Gagne, Donna Gray, James Gulde, Edgar Hedges, Shea Helms, Teresa Kimbrell, Rebecca Kincaid, Alison Kivett, Tiffani Knight, Maegan Nash, Andy Ostwalt, Deena Pascua, Donna Peshel, Kirsten Philemon, Paula Polk, James Rollins, John Rorie, Rachel Schuur, Josie Stokes, Elizabeth Tarlton, Wendi Tarlton, Holly Teal, David Vandeventer, Brian Wallace and Tracy Warden, of Monroe.

• Colleen Hoefler, Evann Hopkins, Eryn Johnson, Ashley Pierce, Kimberly Profitt, Linda Richardson and Kathleen Schneider, of Waxhaw.

• Paul Archer, of Weddington

The following students made the Dean’s List for having at least a 3.5 GPA in the spring semester:

• Tamara Bazen, Jasmine Brown, Maria Burgos, Annette Byrd, Katlin Corum, David Culhane, Matthew Gigi, Hannah Hosack, MacKenzie Kelly, Kim Larko, Mark Larocque, Kayla Phillips, Jared Riser, Marissa Santos, Melissa Schmitt and Judith Steverson, of Indian Trail.

• Jorge Alvarado, James Bishop, Margaret Briggs, Cory Broome, Erik Brown, Randi Bryant, Morgan Carelock, Kaela Coopwood, Stephanie Fisher, Hiram Goode, Gabriel Gray, Roland Hefner, Erica Helms, Carl Herrick, Jason Hinson, Calah Honeycutt, Amy Horne, Hanna Isenberg, Heather Kania, Leslie Ketchum, Christina Linville, Jaboa Little, Charles McKellar, Sonia McWhorter, Erran Menzies, Rebekah Moore, Cynthia Morgan, Artis Radford, Ashlyn Roberts, Michael Shine, Karen Sniff, Sarah Sossamon, Tina Starnes, Mary Stilwell, Amanda Tatro, Linda Thomas, Shannon Thompson, Erik Vivero and Marcus X, of Monroe.

• Ryne Ambrose, Rondalyn Clark, Regina Coley, Ashley Helms, Denise Keech, Jennifer Mangeney, Paola Sacoto, Erica Stallard, Katherine Streeter, Amanda Tucker and Sabryna Winters, of Waxhaw.

Starnes is SPCC’s Faculty of the Year winner

MONROE – Lori Starnes, director of South Piedmont Community College’s medical assisting and medical lab assisting programs, is this year’s Faculty of the Year award winner.

Starnes has been a finalist for the Faculty of the Year award three years in a row.

“Being nominated and a finalist is an extreme honor,” she said in a news release. “When I look at who I was nominated against, and they didn’t make finalist, it is an extreme honor. You work so hard, and I don’t think that a lot of people know how much work is involved in just being a nominee.”
Other nominees were Sharon Little and Miriam Sallee.

Did you like this? Share it:

Comments are closed.